Attitude is Everything!
Regulations & Entry Forms
Lap Records
Contact Us
Club Directory

Third win gives Gardiner the South Island One Hour Endurance Series title

Aucklander driver Hugh Gardiner has continued his dominance of the Carter’s Tyres South Island One Hour Endurance Series, winning the third and final round at Timaru International Raceway on Saturday. With three wins from three races Gardiner has won the 2016 One Hour and the GT Class titles. Second home was the Steve Parker/Matt Jackson Porsche followed by Grant Williams/Brent Buist in third.

“It’s great to have won all three races,” commented Gardiner. “These are the only races that we compete in each year so thrilled to have won the series.

“The team has worked hard for this and it has paid dividends. Fortunately for us but unfortunately for our closest competition, Chris Henderson blew an engine on Friday so didn’t make the grid for the race. Still we had to get through all the traffic and was able to lap everyone except for the Steve Parker and Matt Jackson entry that came second.”

In fine warm conditions it was a race without any safety car intervention.

“The driving standard across the whole field was unbelievably good,” said Gardener. “It is a series that continues to grow from strength to strength with great cars and top racing.”

In seventh place overall and first in Class 1 (>3501cc) was Bruce Davidson (Chev Corvette C6R). Ninth overall gave Lee Rhodes enough points for the Series Class 1 title.

Andrew Wright (BMW E36 M3) was the first Class 2 (2001-3500cc) home. Having taken three Class wins in three races the driver from Rakaia took the Series Class 2 title.

Daniel Cropp was the first Class 3 (0-200cc) car across the finish line but it was Mark Meadows (Lotus Exige) who took out the overall Series class win.

Drivers and teams now look forward to the New Zealand Endurance title round which will be held Saturday 18 March 2017 at the Mike Pero Motorsport Park, Christchurch. Qualifying teams from both the South Island and the Mahindra North Island Endurance Series will fight it out for the national title.


Race Results – Driver(s) + laps completed

1 Hugh Gardiner 55
2 Steve Parker / Matt Jackson 55
3 Grant Williams/ Brent Buist 54
4 Allan Dippie / Scott O'Donnell 54
5 Jarrod Owens 54
6 Danny Whiting 53
7 Bruce Davidson 52
8 Chris Small/ Johnny Small 52
9 Lee Rhodes 52
10 Johnny Wilson 52

1hr at Timaru
Hugh Gardiner during the 1 hour race at Timaru 2016
Photo: Euan Cameron

For more information on the South Island Endurance Series, race entries, or to be added to the South Island Endurance Racing Drivers Club’s e-mailing list, please contact Chris Dunn via e-mail at ph 021-107-9293. Club information can also be found on facebook at, for more information on the series sponsor ASKO, please visit

Prepared by SB Networks on behalf of the SIEDRC
For more information, contact Benjamin Carrell on 0272 444 651 or via e-mail on


MotorSport New Zealand
Facebook page
Central South Island Tourism
NZ Rally Championship
Web Site Design & Maintenance by TMay Design